Video Capture

‚ÄčVR Playback can only be watched by a user in Ovation who is wearing a VR headset. But what if a user wanted to watch it outside of the headset, or email it to a friend, or post it on YouTube? That's where Video Capture comes in. Video Capture captures a 2D video from VR Playback.

In order to begin capturing a video, the desired Recording must be under review and loaded for playback. The Recording must be one that the signed-in user created; it cannot be a Recording that was shared with them.

There are 5 ways to capture a video:

  1. User's Head Is Camera: VR Playback begins and the user's head acts as the video camera. Whatever the user sees in the headset is what will be in the video.

  2. Automated Camera: VR Playback begins and the camera is automatically moved around the venue to watch the playback from different perspectives.

  3. Camera Locked At Start: VR Playback begins and the camera remains locked in place in the location it was in at the start of playback. It will remain there until playback finishes.

  4. Arrows & Numbers Cycle Camera: VR Playback begins and the camera is manually cycled between 5 different locations by the user. The left and right arrows go to the previous and next locations, respectively, while numbers 1-5 move the camera directly to those specific locations.

  5. Mouse & Arrows Move Camera: VR Playback begins and the camera can be "flown" wherever the user wants using a combination of the mouse to look in a direction and the up/down/left/right arrows to move in that direction.

*Note: #2, #3, #4 and #5 all take control of the image shown in the headset away from the user. This can cause serious discomfort. Users should remove the headset from their head entirely until playback has finished. These modes can be exited at any time by pressing the menu button on the controller.

When playback has finished, the video will be uploaded to the user's account on the Ovation website and will be available to watch in the menu.

*Note: If the Recording that is currently loaded for playback is a shared Recording, the user will only be able to watch the video captured by the Recording's creator (if one exists).